Attorney Brad Koffel has over 25 years of experience representing men accused of unlawful sexual conduct with a minor. His experience brings tremendous value and insight to new clients who are facing criminal charges for the first time. Local, state, and federal law enforcement are aggressive in their efforts to investigate, indict, and prosecute individuals suspected of committing sex crimes involving minors.
While cases involving smaller differences in age between alleged offenders and alleged victims are misdemeanor offenses, many cases result in felony charges. Convictions not only result in possible prison sentences and fines, but may also require individuals to register as sex offenders. Alleged offenders can also experience significant hardships when applying for certain jobs, housing, or professional licensing if they have these kinds of offenses on their criminal records.
WomensLaw is not just for women. We serve and support all survivors, no matter their sex or gender. A person commits sexual conduct with a minor by intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person who is under eighteen years of age.
Sexual Conduct with a Minor carries serious penalties. Read this article to learn about the potential Punishments and Defenses and watch the video below to learn what a charge of Sexual Conduct with a Minor means in Arizona :. Sexual conduct with minor 14 years of age or younger is charged as a class two 2 felony, and is punishable pursuant to the Dangerous Crimes Against Children DCAC statue. If the child is twelve 12 years of age or youngerthen the judge has only two 2 sentence choices:.
Sexual conduct with a minor is one of the most serious sex crimes that you could be charged with in Arizona. Depending on the allegations and the age of the victim, convictions can range from several decades to life in prison. Worse yet, these are flat sentences, without the possibility of early release.
Sexual conduct with a minor, or statutory rape, is an extremely serious charge that can result in a lengthy prison sentence and several years as a registered sex offender. If you believe you are the subject of an investigation or if you have been arrested for statutory rape in Ohio, it is imperative you engage the services of a capable sex crimes defense lawyer. The charges on their face are heinous and carry a huge stigma, but the prosecution must first prove your guilt before labeling you a criminal.
Preparing a successful defense can be complicated and time consuming. Charles Grose has over 20 years experience defending people charged with sex offenses. Grose to speak at seminars about defending sex offense cases.
Recent statistics in the State of Utah show an increase in prosecutions for unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or year-old child. In the State of Utah, the age of consent is 18 years old. The age of consent refers to the minimum age for which an individual is legally old enough to consent to sexual activities.
From the definition of rape to a person's ability to consent—the laws about sexual violence vary from state to state. Here are some state laws regarding sexual assault and consent in South Carolina:. To speak with someone who is trained to help, call Sexual Trauma Services Crisis Hotline at